SIBH North Shore Community News




Who Will Staten Islanders Vote For This Mid-Term Election?





This year is a Midterm election year in the United States. Midterm elections are held every two years in

between the four years term of the election of the President.

New York City’s Mayor Bill DeBlasio, Public Advocate Letita James, Comptroller Scott Stringer and all,

five Borough Presidents, Queens’ Melinda Katz, Manhattan’s Gale Brewer, Staten Island’s James Oddo,

Brooklyn’s Eric Adams, and Ruben Diaz Jr. of the Bronx are all up for re-election.

In the City Council, seven of the 51 members are term-limited from running for re-election. There are

several current state legislators running for City Council seats and one, Assembly Member Nicole

Malliotakis, Staten Island is running for the Republican nomination for mayor.

The 49th Council District, located on the North Shore is one of the borough’s most highly contested

seats with current City Council Member Debi Rose running for re-election in her third and final term

while facing two opponents Kamillah Hanks and Phil Maurus in a primary on September 12 th.

Her opponents Ms. Hanks and Mr. Maurus claims her tenure as Council Member Ms. Rose has not done

enough for the North Shore; but Council Member Rose has no problem heralding all of her

accomplishment on her new campaign website:

Kamillah Hanks, Historic Tappen Park is a community activist for over 18 years, is now also the Executive

Director of YouthBuild, Staten Island. A program for low-income and unemployed youth that helps them

acquire basic skills to prepare and obtain their TASC, hands-on training for construction, retail and

customer service jobs. She received funding for the program in 2016, from the New York City Council

through the Department of Youth and Community Development, The Staten Island Foundation, Council

Member Steve Matteo and her opponent Council Member Debi Rose, as reported by the Staten Island

Advance on January 19, 2016.  

Phil Maurus, worked as a legislative assistant New York State Senator Bill Perkins. Inspire to run as a

result of Bernie Sander’s campaign. He hopes to fight for long term residents of Staten Island’s North



The New York City Council is the lawmaking body of the City of New York. It has 51 members from 51

council districts throughout the five boroughs.

The Council serves as a check against the mayor in a "strong" mayor-council government model. The

council monitors performance of city agencies and makes land use decisions as well as legislating on a

variety of other issues. The City Council also has sole responsibility for approving the city budget and

each member is limited to two consecutive terms in office and can run again after a four-year respite.

The head of the City Council is called the Speaker. The Speaker sets the agenda and presides at meetings

of the City Council. Proposed legislation is submitted through the Speaker's Office.

The Council has 35 committees with oversight of various functions of the city government. Each council

member sits on at least three standing, select or subcommittees (listed below). The standing

committees meet at least once per month. The Speaker of the Council, the Majority Leader, and the

Minority Leader are all ex officio members of every committee.

Council members are elected every four years, except for two consecutive two-year terms every twenty

years to allow for redistricting between the terms due to the national census (starting in 2001 and 2003

for the 2000 Census and again in 2021 and 2023 for the 2020 Census).


Want More Community News?

Shoot us an email on your topic: [email protected]

Follow us on Social Media:

Print your tickets